skip navigation

Ray Scott Award

Year Name
2010 Mark Rosen
2006 John Gordon
2004 Tom Hanneman
2003 Ralph John Fritz
2002 Herb Carneal
2001 Tony Parker
2000 Ed Karow
1999 Ray Christenson
1998 Ray Scott

Ray Scott

One of the greatest sportscasters of all time, Ray Scott began his career in radio in Johnstown in his native Pennsylvania in 1937.  He made his first NFL football telecasts in 1953 with the DuMont Network, and moved to CBS in 1956, where he became the voice of the Green Bay Packers during the Lombardi years.  By 1967, his inimitably terse play-by-play style had made him the network’s lead NFL announcer.  He called four Super Bowls and nine NFL title games, including the famous 1967 “Ice Bowl,” as well as virtually every major college bowl game. 

But Scott did more than football.  He was also the lead announcer for the first Minnesota Twins broadcasts on WCCO Radio and WTCN TV, and called the 1965 World Series for NBC.  In addition, he broadcast NCAA and NIT college basketball championships, as well as the Masters and PGA Championship golf tournaments. 

An inspiration to a generation of aspiring sportscasters, he was a member of the American Sportscasters Association Hall of Fame and was twice selected as National Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.  He also received the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award and was named to the Art Rooney Order of the Leather Helmet by the NFL Alumni. 

Ray Scott passed away, at the age of 78, on March 3, 1998.