skip navigation

Currently Selected Tag(s):

No articles found based on your tag selection.

2009 Mr Hockey Nick Leddy and Black Hawks win Stanly Cup

The Minute Men  would like to congratulate the 2009 Minnesota Minute Men Mr. Hockey Award winner Nick Leddy and Chicago Blackhawks on winning the 2012-13 NHL Stanley Cup!

Leddy and the Blackhawks defeated the Boston Bruins in this year's Stanley Cup Final winning the series 4-2. Leddy an Eden Prairie native played in all 48 regular-season and 23 playoff games for the Blackhawk.

Leddy is the 2nd Minnesota Minute Men Mr. Hockey award winner to win the Stanley Cup, Minute Men member Tom Chorske (Mr. Hockey Award 1985) won with the New Jersey Devils in 1995.

Pictured: Loren Feldkamp, Mike Leddy, 2009 Mr Hockey Nick Leddy, Matt Williams, and Howie Williams with the Stanley Cup. 

Twins present Ms. Softball, Mr. Baseball awards

High school athletes receive recognition for outstanding seasons

The Minnesota Minute Men and the Minnesota Twins presented the 2014 Play Ball! Minnesota Ms. Softball and Mr. Baseball awards on Sunday night at the Jax Café in Minneapolis.

Erika Rozell of Lakeville North High School took home the honor of Ms. Softball, while Brad Mathiowetz of Rochester Mayo was named Mr. Baseball.

Both were surprised by their victories.

"I was really shocked," said Rozell, who will attend the University of Minnesota on scholarship in the fall. "I just wanted to follow in the footsteps of Sara Moulton (the 2010 winner) and Nikki Anderson (the 2012 winner) who played for Minnesota. I felt extremely honored."

In her fifth season of varsity play, the catcher led Lakeville North to a 23-2 record with help from star pitcher Michaela Zins, who was also nominated. Rozell maintained a .400 batting average while popping four home runs and 10 extra-base hits.

"I don't have any regrets," she said. "I'm very happy with my entire career as a whole."

Mathiowetz had a feeling the Mr. Baseball award would go to Mounds View pitcher Sam Hentges, who had an excellent season and was named the Minneapolis Star-Tribune Metro Player of the Year. But a record-setting season by Mathiowetz at the plate was enough to sway the coaches and scouts voting on the award.

"I knew I had a chance," Mathiowetz said. "My dad and I thought it was going to be pretty tough, especially with Sam Hentges up for the award. I was blown away when my name got called."

The Rochester Mayo star's 2014 season was incredible. He set new Minnesota state single-season records for total bases with 122 and slugging percentage with 1.420. He finished with 17 doubles and 18 home runs, both good for second in Minnesota state history, and 54 RBIs, which is third all-time in state history. While displaying power, he also compiled a .570 batting average, which is 12th all-time in state history.

Mathiowetz committed to play at Des Moines Area Community College next season, but the Twins also made him their 35th-round pick in last week's MLB First-Year Player Draft. He expects to get an offer from the team next week, at which time he'll make a decision with help from his family.

Award finalists for Mr. Baseball were: Mike Baumann (Mahtomedi), Alex Boxwell (Coon Rapids), Toby Hanson (Delano), Sam Hentges (Mounds View), Dalton Lehnen (Lakeville North), Brad Mathiowetz (Rochester Mayo), and Sheldon Miks (Shakopee).

Award finalists for Ms. Softball were: Kara Lattery (Prior Lake), Bailey O'Hotto (Brainerd), Anna Pipenhagen (Elk River), Erika Rozell (Lakeville North), Rebekah Smith (Orono), Kylie Stober (Lakeville South), and Michaela Zins (Lakeville North).

Past winners

2013 Mr. Baseball: Logan Shore, Coon Rapids Ms. Softball: Samantha Hartmann, Orono

2012 Mr. Baseball: Mitch Brown, Rochester Century Ms. Softball: Nikki Anderson, Brainerd

2011 Mr. Baseball: Austin Malinowski, Centennial Ms. Softball: Kelsey Anderson, Burnsville

2010 Mr. Baseball: Chris Anderson, Centennial Ms. Softball: Sara Moulton, Eagan

2014 Mr Hockey Awards Winners

Mr Hockey 2013 Winners and Finalists

Mr Hockey 2013 Winners and Finalists

Grand Rapids senior Avery Peterson takes top honor in Minnesota high school hockey. 

St. Paul, Minnesota  3-9-2014

The Minnesota MInute Men presented the 2014 Mr Hockey Award to Grand Rapids High School forward Avery Peterson at its 30th annual award banquet at River Centre today. On the ice, Peterson was outstanding all year. He led the Thunderhawks in scoring by 25 points with a 35-30-65 scoring line. Peterson is the all-time leading scorer in the storied history of the Grand Rapids program.

Peterson was a sixth round draft choice of the Minnesota Wild. He played  Sioux City Musketeers of the USHL.   Perterson returning home for his senior high school season, spending much of his time with his family helping to care for his older bother Evan who is battling a rare cognitive and terminal disease called Metachromatic Leukodystrophy (MLD).

Peterson joins Aaron Miskovich as the second Mr. Hockey winner from Grand Rapids.

Frank Brimsek Award

The Minute Men awarded the Frank Brimsek Award  to senior Hunter Shepard, Peterson's teammate at Grand Rapids. The Frank Brimsek Award is given to the state's top senior goaltender.

This is the first time in Minnesota Minute Men Mr Hockey award history that both awards have been presented in the same year to players from the same high school hockey team.


Mr Hockey Awards on U Stream 

2014 Mr. Lacrosse and Ms. Lacrosse Award Winners

The winners of the 2014 Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse awards are Conner Yepsen (Rosemount) and Lydia Sutton (Blake)! The winners of the Jake Anderson award for top boys' and girls' senior goaltender are Aaron Wiederhoeft (Prior Lake) and Oralee Hespenheide (Bloomington Jefferson)!9


2013 Mr Hockey image

Photo by Walt Barry


SAINT PAUL/MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. March 10, 2013– The Minnesota Minute Men announced today that Grant Besse from Benilde-St. Margaret’s High School is the recipient of the 29th Annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boy’s high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. David Zevnik from Saint Thomas Academy received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender. Kevin Smalley (Duluth Denfeld) and Mike Randolph (Duluth East) received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA, respectively, high school coaches of the year. Jim McCoy (Richfield High School) received The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.

Grant Besse scored an outstanding   Read More

Minute Men 2013 Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Winners

Congratulations to the Minnesota Minute Men Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Winners:
Mr. Lacrosse Jake Woodring, Eden Prairie
Ms. Lacrosse Emma Claire Fontenot, Eden Prairie
Mr. Goalie Austin Dover, Edina
Ms. Goalie McKenzie Johnson, Eden Prairie