skip navigation

2014 Mr, and Ms. Lacrosse Winners:

Congratulations to the 2014 Minnesota Minute Men Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Winners:

Mr. Lacrosse

Ms. Lacrosse Lydia Sutton, Blake

Mr. Goalie Jake Anderson Award

Ms. Goalie Oralee Hespenheide, Bloomington Jefferson


Finalists for 2014:

Mr. Lacrosse: Max Elsenheimer (Eagan), Michael Lamb (BSM), J.R. Riley (St. Thomas Academy), Sam Turner (Academy of Holy Angels), Charlie Venable (Eden Prairie), Carter Yepson (Rosemount), Conner Yepson (Rosemount)

Ms. Lacrosse: Sophie Buelow (Chanhassed), Sheila Hirsch (Edina), Anna Johnson (Eden Prairie), Katie Larson (Apple Valley), Ali Ridge (Minnetonka), Anne Slusser (Blake), Lydia Sutton (Blake)

Mr. Goalie Jake Anderson Award: Max Fehey (Eden Prairie) and Aaron Wiederhoeft (Prior Lake)

Ms. Goalie Award: Oralee Hespenheide (Bloomington Jefferson) and Maddox Kohlbeck (Farmington)

2013 Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Winners:

Congratulations to the 2013 Minnesota Minute Men Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Winners:
Mr. Lacrosse Jake Woodring, Eden Prairie
Ms. Lacrosse Emma Claire Fontenot, Eden Prairie
Mr. Goalie Austin Dover, Edina
Ms. Goalie McKenzie Johnson, Eden Prairie


Finalists for Mr. Lacrosse:  Ryan McNamara (Eastview), Mackenzie Nadeau (Blaine), Nick Timmons (White Bear Lake), David Corazalla (Maple Grove), Ryan McNeil (Champlin Park), Jake Woodring (Eden Prairie) and Brooks Armitage (Eden Prairie).
Finalists for Ms. Lacrosse: Emma Claire Fontenot (Eden Prairie), Madeline Rodriguez (Edina), Bailey Forcier (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Hannah Koloski (Lakeville North), Abbie Ness (Lakeville South), Paige Gardiner (Minnetonka) and Dana Almquist (Stillwater).
Finalists for Mr. Goalie are Austin Dover (Edina), and Brenden Nadeau (Blaine) and finalists for Ms. Goalie are Taylor Tvedt (Eastview) and McKenzie Johnson (Eden Prairie).

2012 Ms. Lacrosse Awards Winners

© 2012 Fiona C. Quick - MN Minute Men

2012 MN Minute Men Ms. Lacrosse
Christine Easton

2012 MN Minute Men Ms. Goalie
Bailey Dunning Blake

2012 Lacrosse Awards Winners Announced

SAINT PAUL, Minn. - The Minnesota Minute Men today announced today the winner for the third annual Mr. Lacrosse Award is Jake Heppner of Eastview High School.  The second annual Ms. Lacrosse is Christine Easton of Eden Prairie High School.  Also named were 2012 Mr. Goalie Thomas Gilligan of Benilde St. Margaret’s High School and 2012 Ms. Goalie Bailey Dunning of The Blake School.

The winners were announced during the awards banquet presented by The Minnesota Swarm at 12 p.m. on Sunday, June 3 at the Crowne Plaza Riverfront Hotel in Saint Paul. Keynote Speakers were Judy Baxter, Head Coach of Eden Prairie and lacrosse coaching legend, and Brian Bellows, former NHL Star and youth lacrosse player in St. Catharines, Ontario.  Also speaking at the banquet was 2011 Ms. Lacrosse Hilary Duda.

2012 Homegrown Lacrosse Community Leadership Award winners were Claire Clark & Preston Sycks.  The Homegrown Award was created to recognize the acts character and community that define young men and women; recipients of the 2012 each receive $500 scholarships for use towards their freshman year tuition.

The Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards are given to two outstanding senior high school lacrosse players in Minnesota and are selected by a panel of Minnesota lacrosse community members. A total of 14 boys and girls have been named finalists for the 2012 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse award.

The other finalists for Mr. Lacrosse included: Matt Blaeser (Champlin Park), Ryan Brown (Mahtomedi), Simon Gondeck (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Alex Guyette (Holy Angels), , Teddy O’Reilly (Minnetonka) and Matt Weller (Rosemount).

Finalists for Ms. Lacrosse were: Meghan Bauer (The Blake School), Simone Haugen (Eagan), Chloe Kinsel (Cretin-Derham Hall), Hannah Segar (Apple Valley), Taylor Smith (Visitation-Saint Paul Academy) and Kara Wendell (Champlin Park).

The selection panel had also selected finalists for Mr. & Ms. Goalie of the Year award: Calder Sutton (The Blake School) and Allie Morse (Park Cottage Grove).

Become a fan of the Mr. Lacrosse Award or Ms. Lacrosse Award on Facebook or follow the Mr. Lacrosse Award or Ms. Lacrosse Award on Twitter.

Past Winners:

2011 Mr. Lacrosse – George Ordway (The Blake School), Ms. Lacrosse – Hillary Duda (Minnetonka), Mr. Goalie – Grant Dressen (The Blake School), Ms. Goalie – Brooke Jones (Edina).

2010: Mr. Lacrosse - Bailey Dodds (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Mr. Goalie - Lowell Fluke (The Blake School).

*2011 marked the first year of the Ms. Lacrosse Awards.

About The Minute Men

The Minute Men were organized in 1954 when the city, business, sports and civic leaders decided that in order to attract major league baseball, and football a stadium should be built in Bloomington, Minnesota. The purpose of the Minute Men is to assist and promote professional sports in the Twin Cities Area, to sell tickets, advertise and promote special events and to honor and pay tribute to individuals or teams, who through professional achievement have brought unusual and significant publicity to themselves and the citizens of the Twin Cities. The broadened scope of the Minute Men activities includes amateur sports and charitable donations to other worthy organizations.


Jay Haapala, Mr. Lacrosse Event Chair


Kara Vier, Ms. Lacrosse Event Chair





2011 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse Winners


Blake H.S. sweeps Boys awards, Duda (Minnetonka) and Jones (Edina) honored on Girls side

SAINT PAUL, Minn.- The Minnesota Minute Men have announced the winners of the 2011 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards presented by the Minnesota Swarm in partnership with Dick’s Sporting Goods.

On the Boys side, a pair of Blake teammates took home both awards as George Ordway wasnamed Mr. Lacrosse and Grant Dressen earned Mr. Goalie.

Together, Ordway and Dressen, who have been playing together since the third grade, led Blake to an 11-2 regular season record and a second place finish in the Section 5 playoffs. Ordway led the MSHSL with 74 points (39g, 35a), while Dressen posted an 8-1 record and a 5.36 GAA.

The first annual Ms. Lacrosse and Ms. Goalie awards went to two players in the Lake Conference.

Hilary Duda (Minnetonka) took home Ms. Lacrosse and Brooke Jones (Edina) received Ms. Goalie. Duda helped the Skippers finish second in the Section 6 playoffs after a 10-3 regular season record. Her 74 points (46g, 28a) ranked seventh in the state. Jones posted an 8-4 record with a .630 SV% and led the Hornets (8-4) to second place in the Section 5 playoffs.

Other finalists for Mr. Lacrosse included: Ben Alberts (Woodbury), Carson Cannon (Stillwater), Chase Fisher (Minnetonka), Mitch Hugdahl (Eden Prairie), Steven Kiesel (Breck), and Christian Rekow (Benilde-St. Margaret’s).

Other finalists for Ms. Lacrosse included: Hilary Crowe (Blake), Hannah Dickman (Stillwater), Paige Jones (Edina), Abigail New (Holy Family Catholic), Sheridan Reiners (Bloomington Kennedy), Sammi Reiter (Stillwater).

In addition, Nate Johnson (Maple Grove), and Caroline Griffith (Breck) were the other finalists for Mr. & Ms. Goalie.

Past Winners

2010: Mr. Lacrosse – Baily Dodds (Benilde-St. Margarets), Mr. Goalie – Lowell Fluke (Blake)

Like Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse on Facebook

Follow Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse on Twitter